The 2015 winner of the Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture:
Centennial High School
Las Cruces, NM

Used with permission copyright Patrick Coulie Photography

We are pleased to announce that the Centennial High School received the 2015 Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture in New Mexico. Opened in 2012 and sited on the eastern edge of Las Cruces and taking full advantage of the prominent view of the Organ Mountain range, Centennial High School was selected from submissions of completed projects located throughout the state.

The winning facility resulted from a collaboration of two prominent New Mexico architectural firms, ASA Architects in Las Cruces (the Architect of Record) and Dekker/Perich/Sabatini in Albuquerque (the lead design group).

The Jury also chose to formally recognize with Honorable Mention citations four other entries. These include three projects in Albuquerque, the Levitated Toy Factory Devendra Contractor, Architect (DNCA, LLC), Georgia O’Keeffe Elementary School (Jon Anderson, Architects), Casitas de Colores (Dekker/Perich/Sabatini), and Torcasso Residence located near Santa Fe and designed by the Texas firm Page Southerland Page.
Download Press Release (PDF).

For the fifth year, the Thornburg Foundation, sponsor for the Harnar prize and program, is collaborating with the School of Architecture + Planning at the University of New Mexico in all aspects of the competition process and selection of the award recipient.

The formal presentation of the 2015 Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture will be conducted Friday evening, February 20, at the UNM School of Architecture & Planning in the Pearl Hall Auditorium, commencing at 5:30 PM. 

Immediately following the awards ceremony the annual Harnar Lecture will be presented by Gregg Pasquarelli, AIA, founding principal of the internationally acclaimed firm SHoP Architects, with offices New York City. A reception and opening of the Exhibition of the submissions for the 2015 Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture will cap off the gala evening in the Pearl Hall Gallery.

View Past Award Winners.

















The Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture
is sponsored by
The Thornburg Foundation & University of New Mexico School of Architecture + Planning